NCR Plus, Other Areas Stay Under GCQ Until June 15 - Duterte

MANILA – President Rodrigo Duterte on Monday approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to extend the General Community Quarantine (GCQ) “with heightened restrictions” in the National Capital Region (NCR) Plus – which is composed of Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal starting June 1 until 15 to curb the spread of COVID-19.

Duterte also placed 13 areas under GCQ for the entire month of June. These are Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Abra, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao City, Lanao del Sur and Cotabato City.

He also put 12 areas under the stricter modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from June 1 to 15 due to higher number of new coronavirus cases. These are the City of Santiago in Isabela, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa City, Iloilo City, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Butuan City and Agusan del Sur.

The rest of the Philippines is under the least strict modified general community quarantine (MGCQ). - PCOO

(Photo courtesy of Robinson Niñal/Presidential Photo)