Tokyo International Film Festival 2020 Now Accepting Submissions

TOKYO – The Tokyo International Film Festival (TIFF) has opened its call for entries for its 33rd edition set to take place in the Japanese capital from Oct. 31 to Nov. 9.

TIFF is seeking film submissions from all over the world until July 17.

“At this time of global health crisis, our thoughts go out to all those who have suffered from or been affected by COVID-19, and all the members of the Tokyo International Film Festival (TIFF) team express our solidarity with those who are fighting against the disease and related problems,” the organizers said in a statement.

They added, “As always, TIFF remains dedicated to the safety of our audiences, filmmakers and staff, and we are committed to doing our part to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. Due to Japan’s state of emergency, cinemas have been temporarily closed, but we believe that they will light up again and people will join us to enjoy films from all around the world. With that in mind, we would like to keep the opportunities open for filmmakers.”

TIFF said they will continue to monitor the global health situation and explore many options for holding the 2020 edition of the cinematic event.

More information can be found here: - Florenda Corpuz

32nd TIFF Award Winners:

Tokyo Grand Prix: “Uncle” (directed by Frelle Petersen)

Special Jury Prize: “Atlantis” (directed by Valentyn Vasyanovych)

Award for Best Director: Saeed Roustaee (“Just 6.5”)

Award for Best Actress: Nadia Tereszkiewicz (“Only the Animals”)

Award for Best Actor: Navid Mohammadzadeh (“Just 6.5”)

Award for Best Artistic Contribution: “Chaogtu with Sarula” (directed by Wang Rui)

Award for Best Screenplay: “A Beloved Wife” (directed by Shin Adachi)

Asian Future Best Film Award: “Summer Knight” (You Xing)

The Spirit of Asia Award by the Japan Foundation Asia Center: Reza Jamali (“Old Men Never Die”)

Japanese Cinema Splash Best Film Award: “i – Documentary of the Journalist -” (directed by Tatsuya Mori)

Japanese Cinema Splash Best Director Award: Hirobumi Watanabe (“Cry”)

Audience Award: “Only the Animals” (directed by Dominik Moll)

(Photograph courtesy of ©2019 TIFF)