COVID-19: Filipinos Among Those Banned From Entering Japan Indefinitely

TOKYO – The Japanese government announced on April 1, it will deny entry to all foreign nationals who have been in 73 countries, including the Philippines, within 14 days of seeking to enter Japan in an attempt to prevent further spread of the new coronavirus (COVID-19) in the country.

Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said the expanded ban will be implemented starting April 3, and will remain in effect for the time being.

Foreign travelers from countries on the banned list will only be allowed to enter Japan under special circumstances.

According to the Japan Embassy in Manila, "foreigners with the status of residence of 'Permanent Resident,' 'Spouse or Child of Japanese National,' 'Spouse or Child of Permanent Resident' or 'Long Term Resident,' who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by April 2, are treated, in principle, as persons in special circumstances. This, however, is not applicable to foreigners who depart Japan on or after April 3. The 'Special Permanent Resident' is not in the scope of the entry ban."

From Level 2 where travelers from the Philippines were required to undergo a 14-day quarantine period, and not use public transportation, the Abe administration has raised the infectious disease warning to Level 3 due to the continuing spread of the new coronavirus.

Meanwhile, Japanese returnees will be asked to take a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test to check for COVID-19 infection, self-isolate for two weeks, and avoid public transportation. - Florenda Corpuz

The expanded ban applies to the following countries:


All of China and South Korea, Indonesia, Australia, Singapore, Thailand, Taiwan, New Zealand, Philippines, Brunei, Vietnam, Malaysia

North America:

United States, Canada

Central and South America:

Ecuador, Chile, Dominica, Panama, Brazil, Bolivia


Albania, Armenia, Britain, North Macedonia, Cyprus, Greece, Croatia, Kosovo, Slovakia, Serbia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Finland, Bulgaria, Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, San Marino, Iceland, Andorra, Italy, Estonia, Austria, Netherlands, Switzerland, Spain, Slovenia, Denmark, Germany, Norway, Vatican, France, Belgium, Malta, Monaco, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Ireland, Sweden, Portugal

Middle East and Africa:

Iran, Israel, Egypt, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Turkey, Bahrain, Mauritius, Morocco