Japan Lifts COVID-19 State of Emergency in Tokyo, Eight Other Prefectures

TOKYO – The Japanese government ended on Sunday the novel coronavirus state of emergency for Tokyo and the prefectures of Aichi, Kyoto, Osaka, Hyogo, Okayama, Hiroshima, Fukuoka and Hokkaido. It will stay in effect in Okinawa until July 11.

Tokyo, Osaka, Aichi, Kyoto, Hyogo, Fukuoka and Hokkaido transitioned to pre-emergency stage from Monday.

Bars and restaurants are allowed to serve alcoholic beverages between 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.

“We will continue to work full force to prevent the spread of COVID-19 while pressing ahead with vaccinations,” Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga said.

The Japanese capital reported 236 new infections on Monday. - Florenda Corpuz

(Article cover photo: The Nakamise shopping street in Tokyo's Asakusa district during the state of emergency. Photo by Din Eugenio)