Japan Declares Third COVID-19 State of Emergency

TOKYO – The Japanese government on Friday has declared its third novel coronavirus state of emergency for Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto and Hyogo, where the sharp resurgence of the deadly virus continues.

The state of emergency in the four areas will run from Sunday through May 11.

“I will do everything I can to overcome this crisis and regain a safe daily life, such as cooperation with local governments, securing beds, and vaccination,” said Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga. “We ask for the understanding of the people.”

Japan’s first and second state of emergency were declared in April last year and January this year, respectively. - FJJ

(Photo courtesy of Cabinet Public Relations Office, Cabinet Secretariat)